How to survive your first year of college?

When I was in my first year at college here at John Jay, I was very excited, meanwhile at the same time as being nervous. Here I am, just simply two months ago in June, I had graduated from high school, and did not know how college was going to fair out. I remember that it was my first time going to a college campus, especially here in New York City, it can be quite nerve-wracking. I go to a commuter college here in Midtown, NY right near Columbus Circle and near the Hudson River.

I guess if you ask me, I would advise you to consider the following tips:
1) Embrace your surroundings!
Before you literally go to class on your first day, go to the campus beforehand for convocation, and get a feel for the atmosphere and look for those classrooms where you will be in. I say this because it saves you a ton of time and stress. Now, you actually need to get into the mindset that you are officially a college student now, so the expectations are much higher than what they should be compared to high school standards.
2) You should walk into class like a boss!
Now what I mean by this is that you should feel comfortable with who you are, and not really pay attention to your classmate’s intellectual prowess. That can make you edgy and does not serve you any good whatsoever. I know it’s hard to walk in like a boss, but in order to actually do so, you should focus on trying to talk to new people who ever you make eye-contact with first. Or even, take the first seat which your eye catches, and talk to those people surrounding you, and just chat for a few minutes about how you are feeling.
3) Just smile, because that’s all you can do.
If you are feeling very dull or faded on the first day of classes, then there is something wrong with you. You should either be feeling shy or excited to start this amazing journey. By just simply smiling at others around you, it makes the transition into college so much easier and allows people to make contact with you. Everyone will notice it, even your professor. I would say that on the first few weeks, you should just dedicate a majority of your time to making new friends and exploring the campus and just settle into your new life. Probably after the first-month phase, you should get to know your professor more and what they can do for you.

In the comment section below, let me know what your tips are for college nerves on the first day, or even better yet, how you survived your first week of classes!

 

Leave a Reply

